Shawn Bayes, Executive Director

Shawn Bayes

Shawn Bayes' background in the social services and criminal justice fields spans over 30 years. During virtually all this time, she has been involved with EFry in varying capacities. Beginning her career as a child and youth counselor, Shawn was appointed Executive Director and CEO of EFry in 1997.

Shawn has played a key role in successfully advocating for changes to public policies affecting the treatment of women and girls involved with the justice system. She developed a community work services initiative that has become a national standard, and a Third Party Administration Program which provides hard to serve individuals access to social assistance monies and community support and reintegration. It is considered a best practice model for similar programs across the country.

In 2001, Shawn was one of 120 national leaders in Canada's voluntary and non-profit sector selected for a fully sponsored Masters of Management program at McGill University. The result was her identification of the children of prisoners as a distinct and unsupported subgroup in Canada.

In June 2009, Shawn received the YWCA Women of Distinction Award in the non-profit and public service category.

EFry Board of Directors 2015-16

  • Sandra Michaels, Chair
  • Katherine Bruce, Secretary
  • Darcy Coard, Treasurer
  • Kelly Connell
  • Andrea Glen
  • Noel MacDonald
  • Robert MacDougall, Vice Chair
  • Nic Miller
  • Christine Paramonczyk
  • Miriam Webber